When an aesthetic clinic presents a published clinical study, an FDA clearance announcement, or a glossy portfolio of before-and-after photographs, a prospective patient faces a crucial safety question: Does this evidence actually demonstrate safety and effectiveness for my skin tone, and what should I ask if the data is silent?
The direct answer begins by requesting the exact commercial name, model, and manufacturer of the device or injectable product, followed by two separate questions that federal regulations already split: Who is in the legally cleared patient population? and Who were the human subjects physically enrolled and tested in the supporting clinical study? Under Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Section 807.92 (21 CFR 807.92), a 510(k) premarket notification summary must explicitly state the intended use—including the patient population where appropriate (paragraph a.5)—and, when clinical tests are submitted, must provide a description of the subjects upon whom the device was tested (paragraph b.2). These two groups are frequently distinct.
A commercial assurance that 'the technology is FDA cleared for all skin types' frequently conceals a wide evidentiary gap. Under 21 CFR 807.97, submission of a 510(k) premarket notification and a subsequent substantial-equivalence determination does not in any way denote official FDA approval of the device. Any representation that creates an impression of official approval because the device complied with the premarket-notification regulations is misleading and constitutes misbranding. Furthermore, FDA's September 2017 guidance on medical device clinical studies explicitly warns that when clinical experience in a demographic subgroup is absent or limited, the ability to detect meaningful differences in safety and effectiveness is markedly diminished. If a clinic cannot produce the specific participant count (n) by Fitzpatrick phototype from the device's public 510(k) summary, Premarket Approval (PMA) Summary of Safety and Effectiveness Data (SSED), or peer-reviewed primary paper, the honest conclusion is that the cited evidence has not been shown to include your skin tone.
A cited study is evidence about the people who were in it
Every clinical investigation is bound by its inclusion and exclusion criteria. When an energy-based device (such as a laser, radiofrequency microneedling console, or intense pulsed light system) or a chemical agent is evaluated in a clinical trial, the safety and effectiveness endpoints recorded by investigators reflect only the biological responses of the individuals who completed the protocol. Generalizing those outcomes to individuals with different photobiological characteristics—specifically different epidermal melanin densities and post-inflammatory pigmentary reactivities—is an extrapolation, not an empirical finding.
In aesthetic medicine, this distinction carries profound safety implications. Light and thermal energies interact directly with epidermal chromophores. Melanin acts as an unintended competing target for visible and near-infrared wavelengths, absorbing photonic energy intended for deeper targets such as follicular hair bulbs, dermal vascular structures, or structural collagen. In patients with higher constitutive melanin or heightened melanocyte sensitivity, non-targeted thermal absorption in the basal layer can cause blistering, prolonged erythema, permanent hypopigmentation, severe post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (PIH), or hypertrophic scarring. Consequently, when a trial enrolls exclusively or predominantly light-skinned participants, the absence of reported adverse events in that publication cannot be interpreted as proof that higher phototypes will tolerate the procedure without thermal injury.
Ethical medical practice recognizes the centrality of this evidentiary boundary. Under the American Medical Association (AMA) Code of Medical Ethics Opinion 2.1.1, genuine informed consent requires open, transparent communication between physician and patient regarding the nature of the recommended intervention, potential risks, and the empirical basis for anticipated benefits. A consultation presentation that displays marketing slides claiming universal suitability while omitting the demographic constraints of the underlying trial fails to satisfy the ethical requirements of informed consent. Patients have the right to receive precise information regarding whether individuals sharing their phototype were studied, in what numbers, and with what specific complication rates.
Three different fields: phototype, race/ethnicity, and how you look
A frequent source of confusion during aesthetic consultations is the careless conflation of three distinct parameters: photobiological reactivity (Fitzpatrick phototype), demographic identity (race and ethnicity), and subjective visual surface appearance (visual skin shade). Conflating these three separate domains introduces substantial clinical risk.
The standard classification system used in cosmetic medicine, the Fitzpatrick Skin Type (FST) scale (Types I through VI), was described in Thomas B. Fitzpatrick's 1988 Archives of Dermatology paper as a practical classification of sun-reactive burning and tanning, not as a race, ethnicity, or constitutive-color scale. JCAD notes that the original framework was a PUVA dosing aid for non-Hispanic White patients based on UV burn/tan tendency; types V and VI were later additions and still classify sun reactivity rather than ancestry. Fitzpatrick phototyping is a functional UV-response scale, not a genetic classification of race or an optical measurement of constitutive epidermal melanin.
Ware et al. (Cutis 2020) noted that Fitzpatrick type was developed to assess burn propensity during phototherapy, that providers commonly use it to describe constitutive skin color and ethnicity, and that providers should not conflate race or ethnicity with FST. He et al. (JAAD 2014) found that self-reported race and pigmentary phenotypes (skin, eye, and hair color) are significant but incomplete predictors of Fitzpatrick phototype in an ethnically diverse population: a multivariate model predicted FST only to within one point with 92% accuracy (weighted kappa 0.53). Race and appearance therefore cannot stand in for a UV burn/tan history.
Eilers et al. (JAMA Dermatol 2013) compared self-reported and dermatologist-determined Fitzpatrick types I–VI against reflectance-spectrophotometry melanin index among ethnically diverse participants. That comparison shows why a visual shade in an exam room is not the same measurement as a UV burn/tan history or an optical melanin index. Similarly, Bhanot et al. in the Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology surveyed 479 adult dermatology patient visits and found that provider determinations of FST based solely on visual skin tone failed to consistently correspond with patient-determined phototypes based on actual sunburn and tanning history. The authors concluded that the Fitzpatrick classification requires rigorous reevaluation or replacement when used as a proxy for skin tone and procedural photoreactivity.
Compounding this mismatch is the regulatory divergence between clinical research standards and device labeling. FDA's final guidance on Collection of Race and Ethnicity Data in Clinical Trials (October 2016) and the January 2024 draft on collection of race and ethnicity data recommend Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Directive 15 categories in a two-question format: ethnicity first (Hispanic/Latino or Not Hispanic/Latino), then race (American Indian or Alaska Native, Asian, Black or African American, Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander, White). The 2016 guidance recommends self-report and states that race and ethnicity should not be assigned by the study team. Neither document makes Fitzpatrick phototype, the Monk Skin Tone (MST) scale, or spectrophotometric constitutive pigmentation a required reporting field. A clinical trial may satisfy federal demographic diversity expectations by reporting OMB racial categories while providing zero data on Fitzpatrick phototypes.
| Classification Dimension | Primary Measurement Objective | Regulatory & Scientific Status | Common Consultation Fallacy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fitzpatrick Skin Type (FST I–VI) | Functional UV erythema and tanning reactivity (burning tendency vs. melanin synthesis upon sun exposure). | Standard classification in aesthetic device IFUs; established by Fitzpatrick (1988); widely used for energy device clearance boundaries. | Assuming FST is a race or ethnicity proxy; assuming an individual of a given race automatically has a fixed phototype without evaluating burning/tanning history. |
| OMB Race & Ethnicity Categories | Sociodemographic classification mandated by federal standards; captured through participant self-identification. | FDA's 2016 collection guidance and 2024 draft recommend OMB categories; ClinicalTrials.gov results require race/ethnicity only if collected under the protocol. | Believing that a clinical study that enrolled a diverse racial cohort has automatically evaluated high-risk Fitzpatrick phototypes (FST V–VI). |
| Visual Surface Skin Shade | Subjective optical observation of constitutive skin pigmentation under ambient clinical examination lighting. | Informal clinical impression; highly subjective; demonstrated by He (2014) and Bhanot (JCAD) to have poor correlation with functional FST. | Believing a clinician can reliably determine energy device safety and PIH risk merely by glancing at facial skin in an exam room. |
| Research Scales (Monk Skin Tone / CIELAB ITA) | Research grading such as the 10-point Monk Skin Tone scale or spectrophotometric Individual Typology Angle (ITA), which relates to melanin index. | Emerging investigative tools in computer vision, dermatology research, and patch testing; not adopted as statutory FDA device clearance categories. | Assuming a clinic citing a laboratory study using Monk Skin Tone proves the commercial device in the room has an expanded FDA indication. |
Where the answer lives: 510(k) summary, SSED, registry table, paper methods
To determine whether a cited study or medical device clearance applies to your phototype, you must know exactly where primary data is recorded in public regulatory repositories and medical journals. There are four primary public documents where empirical population data resides:
1. FDA 510(k) Premarket Notification Summaries: Publicly accessible via the FDA CDRH 510(k) database. Under 21 CFR 807.92(a)(5), the summary must state the device's intended use and patient population. If clinical trial data was submitted to demonstrate substantial equivalence, 21 CFR 807.92(b)(2) mandates a description of the subjects upon whom the device was tested, the safety and effectiveness data obtained, and adverse effects observed.
2. PMA Summary of Safety and Effectiveness Data (SSED): For Class III medical devices (such as injectable hyaluronic acid dermal fillers, permanent soft-tissue implants, and novel biostimulators), FDA requires a Premarket Approval application. The SSED is a comprehensive public scientific dossier that details pivotal clinical trial enrollment, subgroup demographics, primary endpoint analysis, and stratified adverse event rates.
3. ClinicalTrials.gov Protocol and Results QC Modules: Federally registered clinical trials report structured baseline characteristics. Under ClinicalTrials.gov quality control (QC) criteria, investigators must submit baseline counts for Age, Sex/Gender, and Race/Ethnicity if collected under the protocol. However, Fitzpatrick skin type is not a prestructured mandatory baseline field; it appears only if the trial protocol explicitly registered it as a study-specific baseline measure.
4. Peer-Reviewed Primary Journal Articles (CONSORT Item 15): Randomized trials that follow CONSORT 2010 include Item 15: a table of baseline demographic and clinical characteristics for each group (typically Table 1). That item requires the characteristics the study actually collected. Fitzpatrick phototype appears only if the protocol measured it; a CONSORT-compliant Table 1 can list age and sex and still omit phototype.
Despite these public reporting mechanisms, empirical phototype data in the published literature is strikingly sparse. In a definitive registry review, Mineroff, Nguyen, and Jagdeo (JAAD 2023; PMID 37062462) examined 246 completed U.S. dermatology clinical trials registered on ClinicalTrials.gov between 2017 and 2021 with posted results. While 87.4% of the trials reported racial data and 61.8% reported ethnicity data, only 5.3% (13 out of 246 trials) reported Fitzpatrick skin phototype. Furthermore, Black/African American, American Indian/Alaska Native, and multiracial participants were heavily underrepresented relative to U.S. census demographics, and Hispanic/Latino ethnicity was significantly underrepresented.
The authors warned that homogeneous study enrollment severely restricts the generalizability of safety and effectiveness conclusions, potentially masking elevated adverse event rates—such as delayed hyperpigmentation or thermal blistering—in patient populations that were never adequately enrolled. The fact that a published trial satisfies CONSORT guidelines by providing age and sex tables does not mean it evaluated your phototype. In trial reporting, 'not reported' must never be interpreted as 'all skin types were studied.'
flowchart TD
A["Consultation Claim: 'This treatment was studied for all skin types'"] --> B["Step 1: Request Exact Device / Product Name & 510(k) or PMA ID"]
B --> C{"What public document is cited?"}
C -->|"FDA 510(k) Summary"| D["Check 21 CFR 807.92(a)(5) Intended Use & (b)(2) Test Subjects"]
C -->|"PMA SSED Dossier"| E["Check Demographics Table & Phototype Stratification (n per FST)"]
C -->|"Published Journal Study"| F["Check CONSORT Item 15 / Table 1 Baseline Characteristics"]
D --> G{"Are Fitzpatrick types reported with explicit counts (n)?"}
E --> G
F --> G
G -->|"Yes, with a stated n"| H["Check whether your phototype is in the labeled population and in the reported counts"]
G -->|"Reported OMB race/ethnicity only"| I["Ask whether FST was collected separately from race/ethnicity"]
G -->|"Missing or 'All Skin Types' without n"| J["Treat cited evidence as unverified for your phototype; ask how candidacy will be documented"]| Regulatory / Publication Document | Specific Public Section or Field | What a Complete Finding Discloses | What It Does Not Disclose |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA 510(k) Summary | 21 CFR 807.92(a)(5) Intended Use & (b)(2) Clinical Test Discussion. | The labeled intended-use population where stated (21 CFR 807.92(a)(5)), and a description of tested subjects when a clinical-test discussion is included (807.92(b)(2)). Those two groups are not automatically the same. | Does not guarantee individual candidate suitability; clearance may rely on predicate equivalence without new phototype clinical trials. |
| FDA PMA SSED (Class III Devices) | Clinical Studies section, Demographics Table, and Subgroup Effectiveness/Safety Tables. | When the pivotal trial collected them, demographic tables may list age, sex, race, ethnicity, and phototype counts. Phototype stratification is not guaranteed in every SSED. | Does not guarantee statistical power in small subgroups; adverse-event tables may reveal single-digit participant counts (n<10) for extreme phototypes. |
| ClinicalTrials.gov Registry Entry | Results Module: Baseline Demographic Characteristics Table. | Aggregated baseline metrics submitted under federal quality control review criteria. | In Mineroff's 246 completed U.S. dermatology trials with posted results, 94.7% did not report Fitzpatrick type. FST is not a prestructured ClinicalTrials.gov field; it appears only as a study-specific measure if collected. |
| Peer-Reviewed Journal Article | Methods section, Table 1 (CONSORT Item 15 Baseline Characteristics), and Adverse Events. | Exact enrollment numbers, inclusion/exclusion criteria, treatment parameters, and observer-blinded complication rates. | Published trials frequently aggregate phototypes (e.g., grouping FST III–VI together), obscuring whether Type V or VI completed the study. |
Worked public examples: labeled I–IV, studied II–VI, split handpieces, small-n 'all phototypes'
To understand how marketing claims diverge from regulatory realities, prospective patients can examine four real-world FDA public dossiers. Each benchmark represents a distinct structural gap between commercial marketing language and primary evidence:
1. The Explicit Labeled Exclusion: Cytrellis Ellacor Dermal Micro-Coring System (K202517). Ellacor is a mechanical micro-coring device. K202517's indications for use are restricted: 'indicated for moderate and severe wrinkles in the mid and lower face in adults aged 22 years or older with Fitzpatrick skin types I to IV.' The supporting study completed 51 subjects (98% female, mean age 62.9 years) and included Fitzpatrick types I through IV. Types V and VI were not the labeled or studied population. Use on those types would be outside the labeled I–IV population and was not supported by that 51-completer study. That is a labeling and evidence gap, not a finding that a physician is forbidden from discussing off-label use.
2. Protocol-required higher-phototype enrollment: SkinPen Precision System (DEN160029). Bellus Medical's SkinPen Precision De Novo (DEN160029) is indicated to improve the appearance of facial acne scars in adults aged 22 years or older; the IFU itself does not name Fitzpatrick types. The supporting study's inclusion criteria required that at least 20% of enrolled subjects have Fitzpatrick skin types IV through VI. Those enrollment rules are not the De Novo special controls, which instead address technical specifications, performance testing, and labeling. FDA's decision summary states that the clinical study demonstrated use on Fitzpatrick types II through VI, that type I was not assessed, and that this gap was acceptable because lower phototypes are not at increased adverse-event risk. FDA identified higher phototypes as the safety concern for pigment change and scarring. 'Missing FST I' is therefore not the same gap as 'missing FST V–VI.'
3. Single Console, Split Modality Labeling: MultiLaser Aesthetic System (K123777). Modern aesthetic practices frequently purchase multi-modality platforms housing several different handpieces within a single console. In K123777, the Indications for Use split modalities on one MultiLaser System: the diode laser is indicated for Fitzpatrick skin types I through VI, including tanned skin, for listed uses including hair removal, permanent hair reduction, and vascular lesions; the IPL handpiece is indicated for Fitzpatrick skin types I through IV. Asking only whether 'this machine' is cleared for a phototype can miss which handpiece will be used.
4. The Small-n Subgroup Limitation: JUVÉDERM VOLBELLA XC (P110033/S053). When evaluating injectable fillers, patients often encounter marketing asserting that a product is 'proven effective across all skin tones.' In the FDA PMA SSED for JUVÉDERM VOLBELLA XC (P110033/S053), approved for the treatment of infraorbital hollows, the regulatory narrative states that the injectable gel 'was found to be effective in all Fitzpatrick skin photo types in the studied population.' However, scrutinizing the underlying demographic tables reveals that of the 103 subjects in the treatment arm, Fitzpatrick types V and VI combined accounted for only 16.5% (17 out of 103 participants). Furthermore, in the adverse-event table stratified by individual phototype, Type I comprised n=3 and Type VI comprised only n=7. While seven subjects provide preliminary directional data, an adverse-event profile derived from seven individuals cannot statistically detect uncommon complications. A patient examining this dossier learns that 'effective across all phototypes' rests on a small subgroup sample size.
| Aesthetic Platform | FDA Tracking ID & Type | Labeled Patient Population | Enrolled Clinical Trial Cohort | Key Consultation Takeaway |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cytrellis Ellacor (Micro-Coring) | K202517 (510(k) Premarket Notification) | Moderate to severe facial wrinkles in adults with Fitzpatrick skin types I–IV. | 51 completing subjects; 98% female; mean age 62.9 years; Fitzpatrick types I to IV exclusively. | Types V and VI were entirely unstudied and are explicitly outside the cleared FDA label. |
| SkinPen Precision (Microneedling) | DEN160029 (De Novo Classification) | Facial acne scars in adults aged 22 or older (IFU does not name phototype; FDA review discussed use on FST II–VI). | Protocol required ≥20% FST IV–VI enrollment; evaluated across types II–VI. | Inclusion required ≥20% FST IV–VI; FDA treated the unstudied FST I gap as acceptable because risk concentrates at higher phototypes. |
| MultiLaser Aesthetic Console | K123777 (510(k) Premarket Notification) | Diode laser: FST I–VI (including tanned skin). IPL handpiece: FST I–IV strictly. | Split clinical and technical documentation across separate energy-emitting handpieces. | A multi-handpiece console can be indicated through FST VI on one handpiece and only through FST IV on another. |
| JUVÉDERM VOLBELLA XC (Dermal Filler) | P110033/S053 (PMA Supplement SSED) | Infraorbital hollowing in adults over age 21 (IFU does not name phototype). | 103 treatment subjects: FST I/II 34.0%, III/IV 49.5%, V/VI 16.5% (17/103; Type VI n=7 in AE table). | 'Effective in all phototypes' statement rests on a small subgroup (n=7 Type VI) with limited statistical power. |
Consultation worksheet: what to ask, where it is written, what a blank means
Prospective patients should approach the consultation armed with specific, verifiable questions. Asking vague questions such as 'Is this treatment safe for dark skin?' invites conversational reassurance. In contrast, inquiring about specific regulatory fields, enrolled participant counts, and handpiece-specific labeling anchors the discussion in verifiable clinical facts.
The following verification matrix serves as an actionable consultation worksheet. It details the seven essential questions to ask, the specific public documents that contain the answers, what a complete finding discloses, and what an unverified or blank response reveals:
| Question to Ask at Consultation | Which Public Document Answers It | What a Complete Answer Discloses | What a Blank or 'All Skin Types' Answer Does Not Prove |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Labeled Population vs. Tested Subjects | FDA 510(k) Summary under 21 CFR 807.92(a)(5) (Intended Use) and (b)(2) (Clinical Test Subjects). | Discloses the labeled patient-population bounds where stated (for example, FST I–IV) and, when clinical tests are discussed, the described test subjects. | Does not prove your phototype was studied. A 510(k) summary may rely on predicate equivalence or bench data; clearance is not approval (21 CFR 807.97) and is not a count of FST V–VI subjects. |
| 2. Phototype vs. OMB Race/Ethnicity vs. Visual Shade | Primary clinical trial publication (CONSORT Item 15 / Table 1) or PMA SSED Demographics Table. | Reports discrete participant counts (n) stratified by Fitzpatrick phototypes I through VI, alongside separate OMB self-reported race and ethnicity categories. | Does not prove phototype inclusion; a study that reports 30% minority racial enrollment may have enrolled zero Fitzpatrick V or VI participants. |
| 3. Subgroup Statistical Power (Small-n Scrutiny) | PMA SSED Subgroup Effectiveness and Adverse-Event-by-Phototype Tables. | Discloses the exact number of participants (n) in each phototype category and confirms whether subgroup efficacy and adverse events were statistically powered. | Does not prove reliable safety; a broad claim of 'effective across all phototypes' may rest on single-digit participant counts (e.g., n=3 or n=7) that cannot detect uncommon complications. |
| 4. Clinical Trial Cohort vs. Marketing Photography | Peer-reviewed study methods section vs. commercial vendor before-and-after photo disclosures. | Discloses standardized lighting, cross-polarized imaging, objective clinical grading scales (e.g., MASI, GAIS), and full complication logs across all treated subjects. | Does not prove reproducibility; marketing photographs represent selected best-case outcomes, often captured under variable lighting without disclosing adverse event rates or dropouts. |
| 5. Dual-Modality Console Split (Hypothetical Case) | Device Operator Manual and FDA Indications for Use (e.g., multi-wavelength system K123777). | Specifies handpiece-specific phototype restrictions (for example, K123777 diode indicated FST I–VI including tanned skin; IPL handpiece indicated FST I–IV). | Does not prove the planned procedure is cleared; verifying that the machine's console is FDA cleared does not protect you if the provider attaches the restricted IPL handpiece. |
| 6. Modal Resurfacing Contrast (Hypothetical Case) | Comparative De Novo (DEN160029) and 510(k) (K202517) Decision Summaries. | Identifies why high-risk dermal micro-coring is restricted to FST I–IV while mechanical microneedling required ≥20% FST IV–VI enrollment to prove safety. | Does not prove cross-modality equivalence. A microneedling De Novo that enrolled higher phototypes does not rewrite a micro-coring 510(k) labeled and studied only through FST IV. |
| 7. Who owns the answer if the phototype table is blank? | AMA Opinion 2.1.1 informed-consent conversation; the named device 510(k) summary, De Novo summary, or PMA SSED; the clinic chart cannot create a missing trial table after the fact. | Names the product in the room, the labeled population, enrolled FST counts if they exist, and which physician is responsible for candidacy if those fields are blank. | HIPAA access to your own chart and a clinic SOP do not generate phototype counts that were never collected. A blank table is not a finding that treatment is forbidden, and it is not a reason to self-treat. |
Worked Hypothetical Consultation Scenarios (Labeled Fictional):
Hypothetical Scenario A: The Multi-Modality Console Trap. A fictional patient whose UV history is consistent with Fitzpatrick type V is shown a multi-handpiece console and told, 'This system is FDA cleared for all skin types, I through VI.' Using the worksheet, the patient asks for the Indications for Use for the handpiece that would actually be used. In a split like K123777, the diode laser is indicated I–VI including tanned skin, while the IPL handpiece on the same console is indicated only I–IV. Confirming the handpiece, not only the console, is what makes the phototype claim checkable. This scenario does not assign candidacy or settings.
Hypothetical Scenario B: The Cross-Modality Equivalence Fallacy. A fictional patient whose UV history is consistent with Fitzpatrick type IV had mechanical microneedling on a device whose De Novo study required at least 20% FST IV–VI enrollment (SkinPen, DEN160029) and assumes a micro-coring device is interchangeable. The patient asks for enrolled n by phototype in the micro-coring summary. K202517 labels and studied FST I–IV, completed 51 subjects, 98% female, mean age 62.9, and describes mechanical removal of full-thickness micro-columns of skin—not a phototype-stratified safety trial in FST V–VI. The mismatch is a reason to keep asking, not a home protocol or a candidacy verdict.
Hypothetical Scenario C: The Influencer Photo Portfolio. A fictional patient is shown a tablet of before-and-after photographs of deeply pigmented individuals. The patient asks whether those people were in the pivotal cohort or are manufacturer marketing images. If the clinic cannot map the photos to a named 510(k), SSED, or paper Table 1 with phototype counts, the deck does not answer who was studied. Marketing photographs are not a substitute for the labeled population or the described test subjects.
If the evidence does not include your phototype
Discovering that a cited study, 510(k) clearance summary, or clinical photo portfolio lacks empirical evidence for your Fitzpatrick phototype does not mean you must abandon aesthetic care. It simply shifts the clinical conversation from uncritical acceptance to rigorous, defensive medical decision-making. There are four constructive steps to take:
1. Ask for a different named device whose public summary includes the relevant phototype: Ask whether the clinic can point to another named device or product, with a matching 510(k) summary, De Novo summary, or PMA SSED, in which your phototype is in the labeled population and appears with a count in the described test subjects. That question does not rank wavelengths, does not assign candidacy, and does not authorize substituting a different handpiece on the same console without checking that handpiece's indication.
2. Ask how candidacy will be documented without inventing a missing table: If the public summary does not include your phototype, ask who owns the candidacy decision and how the clinic will document that decision without creating phototype counts that were never collected. Delayed pigment change is a material energy-device risk, which is why a missing table is not proof of safety—but this page is not a patch-test SOP and does not prescribe fluence, wavelength, peel depth, or a home protocol. Practice-facing test-spot documentation is covered separately in the laser hair-removal patch-test protocol article. A missing table also does not mean you should self-treat.
3. Understand the Legal Reality of Diversity Action Plans: In June 2024, FDA issued a draft guidance entitled 'Diversity Action Plans to Improve Enrollment of Participants from Underrepresented Populations in Clinical Studies', implementing sections 3601 and 3602 of the Food and Drug Omnibus Reform Act of 2022 (FDORA). As documented in FDA's FY 2023–2024 report to Congress, this statutory requirement mandates that sponsors of pivotal device investigations submit formal enrollment goals disaggregated by race, ethnicity, sex, and age group. However, prospective patients must recognize two crucial facts: first, as of 2026-09-11, the June 2024 guidance remains a non-binding draft marked not for implementation and the statutory enrollment requirements trigger only 180 days following publication of a final guidance; second, Diversity Action Plans address OMB race and ethnicity categories, not Fitzpatrick phototypes. A prospective Diversity Action Plan cannot be retroactively applied to older, already-marketed aesthetic devices.
4. Explore Related Evidence Literacy and Practice Safety Resources: Informed aesthetic decisions require understanding how device clearances, consent laws, and safety protocols intersect. To evaluate related aspects of aesthetic clinical governance, explore our comprehensive analyses on how to verify 510(k) clearances in the FDA database, see the separate practice-facing skin-of-color safety protocol for energy-based devices, compare modality-specific phototype questions in our guide to the best laser wavelengths for dark skin, audit powered microneedling safety records in our dossier on FDA-cleared powered microneedling devices, and review complication management in our guide to post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation after aesthetic procedures, review the public Ellacor 510(k) phototype limit in Ellacor micro-coring FDA clearance evidence, separate IPL pigment-injury questions in IPL/BBL burn and pigment risk, and off-label consent documentation in informed consent for off-label aesthetic treatments.
Sources
This evidence guide relies on primary statutory regulations, official FDA guidance documents, peer-reviewed dermatological studies, and verified federal medical device review dossiers:
21 CFR 807.92 Content and format of a 510(k) summary — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-H/part-807/subpart-E/section-807.92
21 CFR 807.97 Misbranding by reference to premarket notification — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-H/part-807/subpart-E/section-807.97
Evaluation and Reporting of Age-, Race-, and Ethnicity-Specific Data in Medical Device Clinical Studies (September 12, 2017) — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.fda.gov/media/98686/download
Collection of Race and Ethnicity Data in Clinical Trials (October 2016) — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.fda.gov/media/75453/download
Collection of Race and Ethnicity Data in Clinical Trials and Clinical Studies for FDA-Regulated Medical Products (draft, January 2024) — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.fda.gov/media/175746/download
Diversity Action Plans to Improve Enrollment of Participants from Underrepresented Populations in Clinical Studies (draft, June 2024) — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.fda.gov/regulatory-information/search-fda-guidance-documents/diversity-action-plans-improve-enrollment-participants-underrepresented-populations-clinical-studies
Diversity Action Plans Summary FY 2023 and FY 2024 — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.fda.gov/media/184768/download
Aesthetic (Cosmetic) Devices — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/products-and-medical-procedures/aesthetic-cosmetic-devices
Code of Medical Ethics Opinion 2.1.1 Informed Consent — Verified public primary source URL: https://code-medical-ethics.ama-assn.org/ethics-opinions/informed-consent
The Validity and Practicality of Sun-Reactive Skin Types I Through VI — Verified public primary source URL: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamadermatology/article-abstract/549530
Racial limitations of Fitzpatrick skin type — Verified public primary source URL: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32186531
Self-reported pigmentary phenotypes and race are significant but incomplete predictors of Fitzpatrick skin phototype in an ethnically diverse population — Verified public primary source URL: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4165764
Accuracy of self-report in assessing Fitzpatrick skin phototypes I through VI — Verified public primary source URL: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24048361
Fitzpatrick Skin Type Self Reporting Versus Provider Reporting: A Single-center, Survey-based Study — Verified public primary source URL: https://jcadonline.com/fitzpatrick-skin-type-self-versuss-provider
Racial and ethnic underrepresentation in dermatology clinical trials — Verified public primary source URL: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37062462
CONSORT 2010 Explanation and Elaboration: updated guidelines for reporting parallel group randomised trials — Verified public primary source URL: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2844943
ClinicalTrials.gov Results Quality Control Review Criteria — Verified public primary source URL: https://clinicaltrials.gov/submit-studies/prs-help/results-quality-control-review-criteria
K202517 Cytrellis Dermal Micro-Coring System 510(k) summary — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf20/K202517.pdf
DEN160029 SkinPen Precision System De Novo summary — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/reviews/DEN160029.pdf
K123777 MultiLaser System Indications for Use — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf12/k123777.pdf
P110033/S053 JUVÉDERM VOLBELLA XC Summary of Safety and Effectiveness Data — Verified public primary source URL: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf11/P110033S053B.pdf




